Courier-May 30, 2019

This week we want to spotlight one of our members, Carolyn Price. Carolyn has been a member of the Noon Kiwanis since 1987. As a Sr. Vice President for Woodforest Bank for 18 years she served 33 years in banking before retiring.

“I love that our mission is to serve children in the Greater Conroe area. My role is to chair the scholarship committee and communicate with Yes to Youth- MCYS at Christmas to determine the needs of the families they serve”.

As scholarship committee chair Carolyn gets to be part of assisting young accomplished seniors further their goals in higher education. Carolyn Price and her committee awarded 9 -$1,000 scholarships for the 2019-2020 school year.

The names of the scholarship winners and their schools they attended are as follows: Conroe High School-Alexandra McPhillips, Lori Smith; Caney Creek High School- Alvaro Valdez, Victoria Rangel; Willis High School-Austin Maire, Kelly Carmach; Montgomery High School-Ede Rogers, Trinity Thompson; Covenant Christian School- Madison Adams.

One of our scholarship recipients, Alexandra McPhillips, shared lunch with the club at our weekly meeting. Alexandra will be attending West Texas A&M in Canyon, Texas. We look forward to hearing from many more of our scholarship recipients and their plans for the future at our lunch gatherings. Any high school students and faculty members interested in creating a Key Club at their high school are encouraged to contact us by emailing for additional information.